"A Sterling Scholar is a high school senior who is publicly recognized and awarded for the pursuit of excellence in scholarship, leadership and citizenship in the State of Utah," the program’s website says.

2 comments on this story

Deseret News and KSL Broadcast Group directly administer the Wasatch Front Region, one of five throughout the state. The other regions where the Sterling Scholar program is independently implemented are Central Utah, Northeast Utah, Southeast Utah and Southwest Utah.

Judging for the semi-finalists was held Wednesday, Feb. 15. Final judging will be Thursday, March 2 and winners will be announced Thursday, March 9.

Here’s a look at the 2017 Sterling Scholar candidates, who represent schools throughout Utah:

Wasatch Front Region, Central Area

Wasatch Front Region, North Area

Wasatch Front Region, South Area

Northeast Region

Central Region

Southeast Region

Southwest Region